Psalms 51:10

Today I was browsing my facebook newsfeed and I came across a post of a certain Christian page. The post is just a picture with the verse Psalms 51:10 in the New King James Version which says,

Create in me a clean heart, O God,
And renew a steadfast spirit within me.”

So I decided to meditate on this verse.

Whenever I meditate on a single verse, I always try to check other translations for me to be able to get more of it. I always look at the Amplified version of the verse. Psalms 51:10 in the Amplified version says,

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right, persevering, and steadfast spirit within me.”

It’s actually just almost the same. It’s a prayer to GOD, a personal prayer to have a clean heart and a renewed spirit. Well, that’s my prayer today. In all honestly, that’s basically my prayer everyday as well. You see, even though I’m a believer and a follower of JESUS CHRIST, sometimes I still miss the mark and fail. There were times that I tend to judge, criticize and think of bad stuff about others. So I really want GOD to mold me and create in me a clean heart and a renewed spirit.

Reading the Amplified version of the verse does not seem to be enough for me today. I still feel hungry. So I did check The Message translation of the verse. In The Message translation, It actually gave the translation of the verses 10 -15. Here goes,

Soak me in your laundry and I’ll come out clean, scrub me and I’ll have a snow-white life. Tune me in to foot-tapping songs, set these once-broken bones to dancing. Don’t look too close for blemishes, give me a clean bill of health. God, make a fresh start in me, shape a Genesis week from the chaos of my life. Don’t throw me out with the trash, or fail to breathe holiness in me. Bring me back from gray exile, put a fresh wind in my sails! Give me a job teaching rebels your ways so the lost can find their way home. Commute my death sentence, God, my salvation God, and I’ll sing anthems to your life-giving ways. Unbutton my lips, dear God; I’ll let loose with your praise.” – Psalms 51:10-15 (The Message)

This one hit me on the spot! The message is just bam! I can’t even find the words to describe it. Haha. As I meditated on these verses I sorted out the results that we can become if we pray and let GOD create a clean heart in us.

* clean
* snow white life
* tuned into foot-tapping songs
* set to dancing
* clean bill of health
* a fresh start
* brought us back from the gray exile
* put a fresh wind in our sails
* a job, teaching people GOD’s ways
* our death sentence was cancelled

Awesome! Awesome! Just so awesome! GOD is so awesome. HIS words are always fresh and refreshing. My lips has been unbutton so I’ll let loose with YOUR praise!

Leave a comment